Theft Crimes Defense
Palm Beach County Theft Defense Attorney
Petit Theft | Retail Theft | Shoplifting
Florida Law establishes different degrees of theft depending on the value of the stolen property, all of them seriously prosecuted and punished. Being convicted of theft can have very serious consequences and so it is important that you contact an experienced theft defense attorney to handle your case.
Based on Florida Statutes “a person commits theft if he/she knowingly obtains or uses the property of another person with intent to, either temporarily or permanently:
- Deprive the other person of a right to the property or a benefit from the property.
- Appropriate the property to his or her own use or to the use of any person not entitled to the use of the property.
Theft in Florida is classified, based on the value of the stolen property, as follows:
- Petit Theft (also called Petty Theft) Florida deems Petit Theft, a misdemeanor, to have occured when the value of the property involved is less than $300.
- 1st Degree Petit Theft: A First Degree Petit Theft occurs when the value of the stolen property is $100 or higher and less than $300. It is considered a first degree misdemeanor and carries up to 1 year in jail and a maximum fine of $1,000.
- 2nd Degree Petit Theft: A Second Degree Petit Theft is considered a second degree misdemeanor and occurs when the stolen property value is less than $100. It carries a penalty of up to 60 days in jail and a maximum fine of $500.
It is important to know that it is sometimes possible for a theft defense lawyer to negotiate other penalties with the judge and the prosecution, especially if the accused is a first time offender.
If you use force or the threat of force during this taking, you can be charged with Robbery, a second degree felony that carries a maximum of 15 years in prison.
Grand Theft occurs when the value of the stolen property is higher than $300.
- 1st Degree Grand Theft
In a First Degree Grand Theft the stolen property value is higher than $100,000 and it is considered by Florida Law as a 1st Degree Felony. A person charged with First Degree Grand Theft may face up to 30 years in jail, up to 30 years of probation and a maximum fine of $10,000.
- 2nd Degree Grand Theft
Occurs when the value of the stolen property is between $20,000 and $99,999. A Second Degree Grand Theft is considered a 2nd Degree Felony by Florida Law and have a maximum penalty of 15 years in prison, up to 15 years of probation and a fine of up to $10,000.
- 3rd Degree Grand Theft
A Third Degree Grand Theft is considered 3rd Degree Felony under Florida Statutes and occurs when the stolen property value is $300 or higher and less than $20,000. This crime carries a penalty of up to 5 years in jail, up to 5 years of probation and a maximum fine of $5,000.
All forms of Grand Theft are felonies, and as such are punishable using the Criminal Punishment Code sentencing guidelines. Be aware that if you are charged with a first degree grand theft, even with no prior record, you are probably “scoring” on the sentencing guidelines a sentence involving prison.
Restitution can become a big part of the task of trying to negotiate a resolution of a grand theft case. If the victim of the alleged theft is a private citizen, the need to pay that person back can be weighed against the need to imprison someone.
Welfare Fraud; Robbery; Aggravated Assault; Aggravated Battery; Sex Crimes; Grand Theft Auto
Opportunities exist in every case to improve your situation. Those opportunities may allow me to have felony charges reduced to misdemeanor charges, or they may allow me to have the case dismissed entirely.
WHITE COLLAR CRIME
Mortgage Fraud, Credit Card Fraud, Welfare Fraud, Embezzlement